Its debatable…Speak Up!

December 6, 2007

Rookies – The stuff of dreams

Filed under: Debate,Forensics - General,Individual Events,Recruiting — bk2nocal @ 2:04 am

I don’t know how many of you can remember back to your first speech and debate tournament, but the follow-up from the Rookie Tournament this weekend has really taken me back.  Seeing the excitement on the students’ faces, hearing the absolute thrill in their voices as they talk about joining the team, seeing their pride and self-confidence after successfully debating their four rounds or speaking in prelims, semis and/or finals – it truly is heart-warming.  This is why I do what I do.  Sure there are other great things – the national tournaments with the thrill of national success, the friendships I’ve formed over the years, etc.  But, nothing can replace the absolute joy I feel when I see speech and debate click with someone.  And the Rookie is a place where people are clicking all over the place.  I’ve already had three people contact me about debating and three others contact me about doing IEs and all of them had that hunger that comes only from getting that little taste of victory at the Rookie Tournament and wondering, what more is out there for me? 

I’m already excited about next semester!  I guess you could say I’m doing a little bit of clicking myself right now.   Sometimes, I really love this activity – and this is definitely one of them!  Here’s hoping you have a little bit of clicking going on yourself as the semester closes!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

