Its debatable…Speak Up!

May 11, 2007

Speaking up and speaking out…

Filed under: Debate,Uncategorized — bk2nocal @ 8:52 pm

Well, I’ve decided I have something to say.  I don’ t know that anyone will care about what I have to say, but I’ll say it just the same.  My hope for this blog is a few things…

  • first, that it will be a place I can send students to find interesting and controversial subjects that will get them talking and thinking
  • second, that it will be a place I can talk about my experiences as a(n) (female) intercollegiate speech and debate coach for the purposes of mentoring and sharing
  • third, that it will be a place that I can talk about things that I CARE about…and maybe even influence a few others to CARE about those things as well. 

I am not sure where the blog will go, if anywhere, but I will do my best to keep it going, to keep it interesting, and keep it debatable.

I am, after over a decade of intercollegiate debate involvement, what some would call “wishy-washy”.  Debate has truly put me in a position where I have few absolutes in my belief system.  And I think that may be a great position for a blog…as the title says, I think its all debatable and I hope some will get involved in the debate via this blog. 

Its difficult to begin with a blank slate and decide what to do with it…so I will just provide some subject areas I am likely to discuss here.  But, I am certainly open to suggestion and encourage comments to include them.  I consider myself to be a pretty good researcher and any subject that is provided, I will do my best to find the “sides” of the story, present them and get people talking. 

I think the world would be a better place if more people would try to see issues from multiple perspectives, instead of just theirs.  So, that is one goal I will set – to provide the different viewpoints on issues, even if I side with one viewpoint more than any other (I’ll definitely say when I do that…). 

So, the issues:

  • feminism
  • academia/higher education
  • public speaking
  • civic discourse
  • politics
  • First Amendment (freedom of speech)
  • intercollegiate speech and debate

Those should keep us busy for a while.  Just to clue you in as to where I’m currently getting info…I love salon.com.  I have just recently discovered the magazine Pink and am really enjoying it so far.  I just read an article about Christie Hefner which made me change my perspective (at least a little) on a woman being the CEO of Playboy Enterprises.  Oh, and there is my love of all things Law and Order.  The original, I just read in this article, is in negotiations to move to TNT if NBC doesn’t renew (what – not renew???). 

In the world of Intercollegiate Speech and Debate, the topic committee meeting for 2007-2008 is quickly approaching.  The topic area is Middle East – we’ll see where that takes us. 

I’m changing jobs next year – moving from Director of Forensics at Pepperdine University to Director of Forensics at CSU Chico.  I’m extremely excited about the new program and the possibilities.  But, I’m dreading the process of selling our condo in a very slow market and having to move across the state…but, I suppose you have to take some bad with the good. 

Well, that should get this blog rolling…I hope that someone reads it!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

